Handmade Kindle Cover

This project was featured on Under the Table and Dreaming!

Happy New Year!

The #1 gift on people’s wishlists this year according to Yahoo! was the Amazon Kindle. I admit that when they first came out, I was pretty skeptical, but I became more and more of a fan as they evolved. I got the 3G version for Christmas and I LOVE it!! I read whenever I get the chance, and I read fast, and the Kindle is the perfect tool to supply my demand.

I needed something to protect my new best friend, so I figured why not make it myself? I’m no seamstress, but I know enough about sewing to tackle this project. Here is what I did:

1. Cut 2 pieces of your choice of patterned material, and 2 pieces of coordinating fleece. The fleece was cut to 7×10, and the patterned material just slightly larger.

2. Sew 3 sides of the fleece together to make a pocket, and trim the seams.

3. Make sure your Kindle fits in there, and snug enough so that there’s not a lot of wiggle room.

4. Sew 3 sides of your patterned material, right sides together. Make sure its going to be large enough to go over the fleece. My seams here were 1/4 inch, I just followed the end of the presser foot.

5. Turn the outer pocket right side out, slip it over the fleece pocket, and check the fit. Make sure to poke out the corners and give it a light press with the iron.

6. I decided to use a button and elastic closure on mine, so I found a button from a project years ago and sewed it to the front of the outer pocket only. (It matches better in person.)

7. I neglected to take a picture of the next step – I didn’t have enough hands! I turned in the top seams about 1/4 inch, placed both ends of the elastic loop between those folds on the back side, and top stitched around the whole thing. Here is what it looks like finished.

8. Voila!

I linked this in the following places:

I ❤ Naptime

Today’s Creative Blog

Hooked on Hepworths

The Speckled Dog

Under the Table and Dreaming

6 Comments

Filed under crafts

6 responses to “Handmade Kindle Cover

  1. Really cute! This definitely has a lot more personality than most Kindle covers I have seen. Great work!

  2. You did a great job! Love your fabric selection. Got an e-reader Kindle type thingy for Christmas … I was just thinking that I needed to make something like this.

  3. This is so cute! I also got a Kindle for Christmas, and I was thinking about making a cover for it. Thanks for the tutorial – I am NO seamstress, and this looks like something I can handle. Yay! (Super cute fabric, too, by the way!)

  4. I was also against readers until I got a nook for Christmas. I love that thing! I have a cover for it that feels like a hardback book, but I want a pouch for it too. As soon as I can get a space cleaned off for my sewing machine, I’m making one of these! Thanks for linking up to Favorite Things Friday.

  5. Great material! And what a great use for it!

  6. Such a great idea! Thanks so much for sharing this great tutorial and linking up to The Sunday showcase party – I have featured this today. Stop by and grab a featured button if you like. Hope you have a wonderful week ~ Stephanie Lynn

Leave a Reply

