Blog the Change for Animals

I’m joining other bloggers in:

Visit the website:  Be the Change for Animals

I’d like to do my little part and showcase three of my favorite rescue organizations.

I’m sure that you’ve heard about dog rescues, and not just shelters, but breed specific or even all breed, no-kill, rescue organizations.  They are groups of wonderful, dog loving people that do anything and everything they can, and sometimes more, to save lives.

I have the privilege of knowing many of these wonderful people, and have fostered a few dachshunds myself.  Rusty, Sadie, Jenny, Joey, Milo (who shared 3 years of his life with me), and Radley (who became a member of the family on his first night at my house.  foster failure!) helped me more than I helped them.

Rescuer’s Prayer

Now I lay me down to rest
I pray my soul can stand this test
Of watching critters lose their homes
While owners gripe and cry and moan
I long for strength of spirit and
I pray they’ll find a home again
Where they will know a loving heart
I can’t do much, but it’s a start……..
And spare me from the owners please
About the baby’s allergies
Or how they’re moving out of state
Or spitefulness ‘tween the cat and mate
Please keep me sane while dealing with
The woman who bought as a gift
A wriggling tiny ball of fluff
That now is playing way too rough
Remind me I should bite my lip
When confronted with, “he grew too quick”
“I didn’t know he’d get so large”
“He seems to think that he’s in charge”
Protect my heart when I hear them say
“I think we’ll breed our dog one day”
Sometimes I think it’ll break in two
Each day brings trials harsh and new
And if I die before I wake
I pray a hopeless soul you’ll take
My tears are gone, my faith is bare
Lord, please hear my rescue prayer.
~Author unknown~

Rescue groups, even if they are 501c3 Non-profits, run on donations only.  Every dog they bring in gets fully vetted, spayed or neutered, and trained if they need it.  Dogs usually are then transfered to foster homes where they remain until someone is interested enough to become their forever home.  As you can imagine, there are limitations.  Vetting isn’t cheap, and at times, groups have thousands of dollars in vet bills to pay.  Anything you can give helps!

I volunteer for the following rescue groups from time to time, give them a visit, and maybe even a small donation!

Central Texas Dachshund Rescue

Heart of Texas Lab Rescue

 

A good friend of mine started this rescue.  She is a wonderful person with a huge heart!  Go give them a little support too!

 

Gulf Coast Dachshund Rescue

 

The next time you are thinking about adding a four legged family member, remember:  Adopt, Don’t Shop!

4 Comments

Filed under Dogs

4 responses to “Blog the Change for Animals

  1. Wonderful post! I love the poem.

  2. We love that poem but it is so sad! Trixie came from a pet rescue organization, and our Mama volunteers with them now. Our Mama has also known a lot of dumb people who belong in that poem. Like our friend who bought a chihuhua for her son, then didn’t get it neutered (or get spayed the female dog she already had) and then, a year later, decided to get rid of the chihuahua, only to find that her other dog was pregnant, and then decided to keep one of the puppies, but one year after that decide that the puppy was too much trouble also and wanted to take her to the pound! (By the way… the puppy who almost went to the pound was Lily! Our mama “rescued” her, too!)

  3. How wonderful of you to spend your time helping animals! Best wishes to these rescues – they do super important work!

  4. Great post – and what a touching poem. I had not read it before.

Leave a Reply

